National Geographic @natgeo's photo detail 217.141 likes

Photo by @marcusbleasdale For today’s @unitednations Day Against the Use of Child Soldiers, I wanted to share this picture from one of my trips to the DRC back in 2008. 
A child soldier with a community-based militia group was waiting in Kanyabyonga, in eastern DRC, as rebels advanced. He was recruited while young men in the area were being abducted by rebel forces. He didn’t want to be forced to fight, so he volunteered with the militia. 
Since then, a lot has been done to try to stop the practice of using child soldiers, including the #internationalcriminalcourt’s landmark verdict in the Lubanga case. #child-soldiers 
#childrennotsoldiers #justicematters #childrensrights #savethechildren #childrenandarmedconflict #morejustworld

Photo by @marcusbleasdale For today’s @unitednations Day Against the Use of Child Soldiers, I wanted to share this picture from one of my trips to the DRC back in 2008. A child soldier with a community-based militia group was waiting in Kanyabyonga, in eastern DRC, as rebels advanced. He was recruited while young men in the area were being abducted by rebel forces. He didn’t want to be forced to fight, so he volunteered with the militia. Since then, a lot has been done to try to stop the practice of using child soldiers, including the #internationalcriminalcourt’s landmark verdict in the Lubanga case. #child-soldiers #childrennotsoldiers #justicematters #childrensrights #savethechildren #childrenandarmedconflict #morejustworld

1.564 comments

Kenneth A Murray @kettnett
kettnett commented 5 days ago
@chris_handcrafted redd barna🙏🏻
RMac @r_mac1982
r_mac1982 commented 5 days ago
..Civilization is no where there what a shame.... Wonder who's to be blamed..
Jorgelina Rizzuti @jorgelinarizzuti
jorgelinarizzuti commented 5 days ago
Horror!!!
nolvi lupe @nolvilupe
nolvilupe commented 5 days ago
que triste imagen.
Michael Branth @branthmichael
branthmichael commented 5 days ago
Scary to see and read about
Riccardo @rick_sanchez_photos
rick_sanchez_photos commented 5 days ago
Beato te
FChin @fchin123
fchin123 commented 5 days ago
The DRC is one of the tragic countries in the world. Sad
Toprak Polat @toprak0810
toprak0810 commented 5 days ago
Why kids hev a gun
Kenneth Freeman @alexstrider
alexstrider commented 5 days ago
200,000 people like this picture of child soldiers!!! Like WHY would ye like this ??????
Jeff @oregonhuntingdog
oregonhuntingdog commented 5 days ago
Too bad the United States wont stop using child soldiers. Those 18 yo kids in Afghanistan had no idea what they were getting into. The military cannot recruit adults because they have had time to become educated and arent stupid enough to join.
🎀 Sara López 🐘 @sdesarita20
sdesarita20 commented 5 days ago
NO LIKE!!! 😢
mike @mikewinzap
mikewinzap commented 5 days ago
@curoninho *4 visier wär no lit
Courtney Nichole Ronshausen @cnicholeee
cnicholeee commented 5 days ago
😢😢😢
Rudolf Snyman @rudolfsnyman
rudolfsnyman commented 5 days ago
@r_mac1982 More civilized than USA...
RMac @r_mac1982
r_mac1982 commented 5 days ago
@rudolfsnyman OK
DespoinaSemer @despoinasemer
despoinasemer commented 5 days ago
👎👎👎😱😱😱😱
Rudolf Snyman @rudolfsnyman
rudolfsnyman commented 5 days ago
@avonelharding ya and saying the Lord's name in vain will help. 👍
Jaklina Kostova @jaklinakostova
jaklinakostova commented 5 days ago
😢😢😢😢👎👎👎👎
Rudolf Snyman @rudolfsnyman
rudolfsnyman commented 5 days ago
@mistersinister94 Still better than USA #Africarules
Jason @jason94305
jason94305 commented 5 days ago
WTF!!!
Joe Morley @joemorley3
joemorley3 commented 5 days ago
😰
Ruth Brooker @ruthiebrooker
ruthiebrooker commented 5 days ago
@_snomelckcin
B E N @ben_ksl
ben_ksl commented 5 days ago
👎🏼👎🏼👎🏼😧
Gizem Güçlü Bayram @gzm.photography
gzm.photography commented 5 days ago
🙏
هــيچــا @the_hicha
the_hicha commented 5 days ago
😒
Eman @eawadhi
eawadhi commented 5 days ago
So sad 😞
Rutagengwa @rutalexis2006
rutalexis2006 commented 5 days ago
Is in Congo
Luis Losada @llosada49
llosada49 commented 5 days ago
MUY TRISTE VER ESTO.
mbemba_minou @mbuta_minou
mbuta_minou commented 5 days ago
Jusqu'à quand. Ah mon Afrique 😢😭
Mason Enneking 🇺🇸 @mason.s.enneking
mason.s.enneking commented 5 days ago
Really puts things into perspective here in the states
Mina Maciel @minamaciel
minamaciel commented 5 days ago
😢😢
Bali Indonesia @tediwahyu
tediwahyu commented 5 days ago
Oh My Gosh 😲😱😢😭.... Where is, they Called of the BIGGEST world 🌎 community UN 👎🏻👎🏻👎🏻#UN#unitednation #save#child#savechildren #gunkill#apocalypse #europe #america#universe #world#asia
Allyann Thomas @allyannthomas
allyannthomas commented 5 days ago
This is so sad and we should do something about it
Karen Antunes @karen_aka_cuica
karen_aka_cuica commented 5 days ago
😢
Jerad Morris @doctorpepr
doctorpepr commented 5 days ago
@eddie1668 Because they don't have schools.
Cleopatra Maxie @maxiecleopatra
maxiecleopatra commented 5 days ago
There is no hope for the future, these kids look like 12 yrs old. With a gun?
Trãcìì_Äňň💋 @itztracii
itztracii commented 5 days ago
@orhs_cadet_unit.3
 @cupcakeconnie2
cupcakeconnie2 commented 5 days ago
Such sadness
matt @mbrincko
mbrincko commented 5 days ago
Go getem kony!!!!!
 @este.van
este.van commented 5 days ago
If I ever get enough money. I’m not hiring big bad bodyguards. I’m hiring child soldiers. Seriously who’s gonna f*ck with me and my 9 year old Nigerian who’s toting a AK.
Denise Caseres @denisitacaseres
denisitacaseres commented 5 days ago
It makes me very sad to see this kind of photos
Kaja Teräs @kajateras
kajateras commented 5 days ago
😭😭😭😭
Lucy James @ljpop_100
ljpop_100 commented 5 days ago
It's disappointing they are promoting this even though it's a real issue
Daph @daphne.rxpxex
daphne.rxpxex commented 5 days ago
Sadness, learn peace instead of war....🙏
Nick @nickdip5
nickdip5 commented 5 days ago
@musa_ali_
Harrison @hahn_dynasty
hahn_dynasty commented 5 days ago
@datboikeefer the real jrotc
Cristiana Sima @simacristiana
simacristiana commented 5 days ago
No like👎🏽
Joaquin Muratore @joaquin_muratore
joaquin_muratore commented 5 days ago
En que tienda comprarán esas armas? De que país serán los fabricantes?
Muhammad Yousefnezhad @myousefnezhad
myousefnezhad commented 5 days ago
I hate this photo :((
Eddie @eddie1668
eddie1668 commented 5 days ago
@doctorpepr They don't have schools all over the place like we do, everyone knows that. It was "a comment" to highlight that their are children all over the world with guns who have bigger things affecting their lives than girlfriend issues or parents taking away their phones. You gotta make the intellectual leap ... it's such a deep and convoluted issue. We are a violent species. There's no two ways about it. If it isn't a gun it's an arrow, a spear, a knife, a club, a stone, or just bare hands. People are the issue. Ideas are the issue. The idea that violence is a valid solution to a problem is the issue.
Itay Shb @itayshb
itayshb commented 5 days ago
😃
Amit Mayekar @mayekaramit
mayekaramit commented 5 days ago
Sad
محمدمتین عزیزی @mmatinazizi
mmatinazizi commented 5 days ago
It's dreadful!
 @7almila
7almila commented 5 days ago
It is terrible photo
m@rci@ @silva_marcia_leonor
silva_marcia_leonor commented 5 days ago
Terrible que los niños tengan que ser forzados a esto que pena..
Federico Bla Bla @federicobla
federicobla commented 5 days ago
#Nohope
Olguita Rodriguez @olguitarb
olguitarb commented 5 days ago
Como destruir la inocencia de un niño!!
Patricia Ex @mapath.flores
mapath.flores commented 5 days ago
Niños con armas ..que triste😔..deberian estar jugando
Dillon Cassidy @ovwolves
ovwolves commented 5 days ago
Psychological warfair.. they know u.n. forces can't fight back
Mary Maciel @marymaciel6687
marymaciel6687 commented 5 days ago
😲😲😲
Madison @flowergirlrae02
flowergirlrae02 commented 5 days ago
WHAT THE HECK, THATS A CHILD
Ta Jan @ta.jan
ta.jan commented 5 days ago
Masakra dzieci jako żolnierze i mordercy są już od najmłodszych lat szkolone 🙄😱😳
Stewart Thorpe @stewart.thorpe
stewart.thorpe commented 5 days ago
😮
Ovi @oviruby
oviruby commented 5 days ago
#childrensrights stop the #waronchildren
Lizzie @lizzieaustralia
lizzieaustralia commented 5 days ago
Oh wow I can’t believe that is a thing that exists
Lia_Castro_Lima @lia_castro_lima
lia_castro_lima commented 5 days ago
😭😭😭😭😇🙏😢😱
Lia_Castro_Lima @lia_castro_lima
lia_castro_lima commented 5 days ago
Terrível!Monstruoso!
малочкин евгений @malochk7669
malochk7669 commented 5 days ago
Это просто ужас , вооружить детей.
Francisco @frankchez25
frankchez25 commented 5 days ago
@oscarlossada quiero una
 @ibiye.a
ibiye.a commented 5 days ago
소소언니 @yjee_xoxo
yjee_xoxo commented 5 days ago
ㅠㅡㅠ
The r@pper hope @rocky_nguema04
rocky_nguema04 commented 5 days ago
Explotación infantil
Zu Accampora @zuzuaccampora
zuzuaccampora commented 5 days ago
Pobres crianças sem lnfancia...
Bishoy Fayez Aziz @bishoy1194
bishoy1194 commented 5 days ago
This pic shows a crim war agenst this child who hold wopen
Grand Mother Barbie Dolls @grandmotherdolls
grandmotherdolls commented 5 days ago
😱😱😱😱😱😱😱😩😩😩😩😩😩😩😭😭😭😭😭😭😭
marcelafogaca @marcelafogaca9783
marcelafogaca9783 commented 5 days ago
Que triste ☹️
ThePerfectBite @verotastingflavors
verotastingflavors commented 5 days ago
Que horrible
Karen Brown @karen_brown27
karen_brown27 commented 5 days ago
Curious where he is now 10 years later
Levi128 @levi1282959
levi1282959 commented 5 days ago
Super
Gaspar @ga_spar
ga_spar commented 5 days ago
😔😞
BenjaminB @bennyparadi5e
bennyparadi5e commented 5 days ago
@kareemtattoo peep dude on right double AK Bruh. pewpew’
Bengt Ebbeskog @bebbeskog
bebbeskog commented 5 days ago
Hemsk att se barn med vapen.
paco carmona ortiz @pacocarmonaortiz
pacocarmonaortiz commented 5 days ago
Que pena
A n d r e a @_andrea__sturiale
_andrea__sturiale commented 5 days ago
😢👎👎👎👎👎👎
Pedro Augusto @pedroaugustogeo
pedroaugustogeo commented 5 days ago
😢😢😢
Katie M @mccrka
mccrka commented 5 days ago
I
Alberto Prosopopof @suprito
suprito commented 5 days ago
😤 so sad!!!!!
IvánHeAl @ivan_tier
ivan_tier commented 5 days ago
Where do they get all the weapon from??
AC44 @alvaroca44
alvaroca44 commented 5 days ago
👎👎👎👎
Nikki Delaney @_nikkipedia_
_nikkipedia_ commented 5 days ago
😱
Doris Káram💙🌷💜 @bijouglamour
bijouglamour commented 5 days ago
Qué hace el mundo ante este HORROR ??? Los políticos los poderosos para acabar de fomentar las guerras en el planeta Acabar con la desigualdad y dejar que estos niños vivan como niños... con AMOR
Carole Winters Dorff @wintecalux
wintecalux commented 5 days ago
Such a tragic country, DRC....
Jorin van den Balynas @jorin.balynas
jorin.balynas commented 5 days ago
Admirable on the kid's part; sad that this is what the world is like for some children.
 @adiv238
adiv238 commented 5 days ago
💔😢
Snehshwar shankar @shankarsnehshwar
shankarsnehshwar commented 5 days ago
HHahahaha
Cathy Besson @cathyjeep
cathyjeep commented 5 days ago
How sad !! 😢😢😡
Nuria Gonzalez @nuriadelfinazul
nuriadelfinazul commented 5 days ago
MUY MAAAAAL
dianne velasco @dianneveevee
dianneveevee commented 5 days ago
These are children!😭
Kady shine @kadyshine
kadyshine commented 5 days ago
C'est triste. Ils font taire l'innocence de ces enfants pour réveiller le monstre en eux😢😢
Edwin Chimuswe Sakala @edwinchimuswe
edwinchimuswe commented 5 days ago
This shows the recruiter is a degenerate and a monster. 😢😟
Alvaro @alvaros336
alvaros336 commented 5 days ago
Por children
ALi @ali.pamuk
ali.pamuk commented 5 days ago
🕊🕊🕊 Peace 🕊🕊🕊
Michel Saner Sen @sanermichel
sanermichel commented 5 days ago
Apprentis tueurs, bourreaux !
Valerio @valesince80
valesince80 commented 5 days ago
😒☹️😶
Blessed Michael Scheepers @greatly_blessed_mike
greatly_blessed_mike commented 5 days ago
@kait_reabow
Schnuffel Puffel @schnuffelpuffel
schnuffelpuffel commented 5 days ago
😭
Lenice Medina @lenicemedina
lenicemedina commented 5 days ago
This's very sad! 😔
Yvette Roumiguières @yvetteroumiguieres
yvetteroumiguieres commented 5 days ago
😠😠😠😢😢😢😢
Rafael Nascimento @rafael.nrocha
rafael.nrocha commented 5 days ago
🤬🤯😦😱👎
 @mamaferris71
mamaferris71 commented 5 days ago
So heart breaking! They are being robbed of childhood
A S @auntanniebutterfly
auntanniebutterfly commented 5 days ago
So very sad. Let us all say a prayer every day.
Charlie Ibarra @charlie.ibarra.1950
charlie.ibarra.1950 commented 5 days ago
Not good at all.
Charlie Ibarra @charlie.ibarra.1950
charlie.ibarra.1950 commented 5 days ago
So sad. 😕😐
Deb @superlativematriarch
superlativematriarch commented 5 days ago
So sad
ladykatie @ladykatie
ladykatie commented 5 days ago
Heartbreaking
Cesar Monroy @sweetmocha77
sweetmocha77 commented 5 days ago
@zulaikaub
serapio2173 @serapio217
serapio217 commented 5 days ago
So sad Jeff bezzi
Sandra Herrera @sandraherrerabarrera82
sandraherrerabarrera82 commented 5 days ago
The real victims of the life
Amir_Yaghooti_7 @amir_yaghooti7
amir_yaghooti7 commented 5 days ago
😕
Max Manktelow @maxmanktelow
maxmanktelow commented 5 days ago
@beonetraveler the solution?
Enrico Maria Pompeo @enrico_maria_pompeo
enrico_maria_pompeo commented 5 days ago
@enrico_maria_pompeo
Gracjan Si @gracq_
gracq_ commented 5 days ago
🔫🔪💵😢
Eladio Piñero @eladio.pinero.3
eladio.pinero.3 commented 5 days ago
🤐😯😏
乙さとり @2kkoriyururi
2kkoriyururi commented 5 days ago
こういう時に心から思う事がある。それは『大人は卑怯だ』という事だ。体も心も幼い子どもはどうしても大人には太刀打ちできない。それを解ってて大人は子どもを利用する。どうか、子ども達よ、そういう大人ばかりでない事を知っていておくれ。そして、泣いてる君たちを助ける力のない大人を許しておくれ。泣いてる君たちにすら気付かない大人を許しておくれ。_| ̄|○
Jejak Waktu @jejakwaktu
jejakwaktu commented 5 days ago
Where was this?
Mars Art Davis @marsartdavis
marsartdavis commented 5 days ago
😭This world is painful... These are children..
Ener Toktamış @enertktms
enertktms commented 5 days ago
Zalim ve kan dokucu insan..çocuklar okula eylence ye yakisir
ChenW @life.wif.chen
life.wif.chen commented 5 days ago
Meh want a rifle
Pascal @pascal___7
pascal___7 commented 5 days ago
:(
+A🇧🇷 @plantsarefriedds
plantsarefriedds commented 5 days ago
Os menino bom de outro país é level maximo
ECD @ritzpah777
ritzpah777 commented 5 days ago
So sad! This kind of thing is an abomination! All children have the right to have a carefree or at least a relatively carefree life.
Carmelina Mattera @carmie60
carmie60 commented 5 days ago
So....does anyone know what happened to this particular child since this photo was taken?
Pani Majeska @uleczka2003
uleczka2003 commented 5 days ago
shock:{
Hi from Switzerland! @hifromswitzerland
hifromswitzerland commented 5 days ago
Poor kids! 😢
Jessica Urbina @jessicau_ferrer
jessicau_ferrer commented 5 days ago
Totalmente horrible.. Los niños de hoy en dia
Heleen Metzker @heleenmetzker
heleenmetzker commented 5 days ago
😓
Sharyn Hancock @sharynhancock
sharynhancock commented 5 days ago
So sad.
Isabel Arano @arano.i
arano.i commented 5 days ago
No war
Lydia Herdt @schwarzfahrenfuergerechtigkeit
😢😢😢😢😢😢😢

217.141 likes

Dj rohan(B.B) @mdarmanrohan
Pravinkumar @pravin_kumar_wlp
sarah nicole Domingo @sarney19
Suraj Zade @zade.suraj
Isabel Arano @arano.i
Alexius Edward Jack @alexiusjack
GOD1st Joshua 1:9 @drip_lo3
Eryabon @erymohaya8
Tanveer MANKAR @harris.mankar
Ally Glenn @a_glenn.06
Muzz Fuzz @mpnelson1955
Yesenia Sanchez @yesenia.sanp
Yuriy Malchikov @yuryi_malchikov
 @jjanarama
Christine Deweese @christinedeweese
Ryley Disner @goalie.girl.ryley
Андрей @andrew_admin
Roni syaputra @ronisyaputraa
Abil Cg @abilcg
Himanshu Raj @himanshurajraj143
Татьянка @kalina0284
 @kyolory
fauzi qomara @fqomara
Vinod Burud @vinodburud
Gabriela Maria Mateeș @gabrielamatees
Mission Pramanik @missionpramanik
ian @ian_lartiste
лариса @lar8121
Felipe Barros @felipebrss
Quemener @quemenerfranck
Stephanie Cottrell @steph.cott
Michal S @michaszek39
Priya Priya @priya.gajendran.39
manas.muthanna @manas.muthanna
Aykutalp @aykutalpbeg
ali özgen @o_z_g_e_n_a_l_i
Akshay More @more8451
 @gladtydings
Sivan Seleman @sivanseleman
Amit Singh Rajput @amit_singh_83087
Ankit Anand Bhatt @graymatter2403
 @kolyazag01
 @ebeebe_666
daniel aguado @dani_22_11_76
Deepalinagoriya @deepalinagoriya1688
Theo060878 @theo0608788087
豆腐花兒 @armstrong_jam4
Sara @sf.celyne
pawan kumar yadav @pawankumaryadav3141
دابیر مرذا @dabeeram
Himanshu Saroj @himanshu.saroj
Elly van Duijn @dutchess_elisabeth
Datis Zargar @datis_zargar_photographer
امیر @5234.myr
nazzory90 @nazarimamm
leonid @le.onid807
الحاتمي @lhtmy2621
Zeljko Petrovic @zeljko5763
braxton evans @braxtonn26
Da Chaçoa Kelvis @pancitosgg
sandisahitri @sandisahitri
Саша @papabernadi
Abdul @abdul_727
GiveawayiPhoneX @wonderfully11
Kanha Gupta @kanhagupta114
Ben Wagner @bwagner2024
Zozo @zozo_gto
Sirle Arroyo @sirle_arroyo
rohit @sagarrohit43
Shafaz Mohamed @shafazmohamed
Eng Soh Har @sohhar68may
lilian kemunto @lilianongaro96
Mafan @dj_vestors_aka_mafan
H. Shiba☆ @ral
macaron @clichemacaron
sangitaa  roy @sangitaabhi143
Pedro Azpiroz @azpirozpedro
🇹🇼Chuang,Hsien-Wei 🇹🇼 @lg149108
فهد آل خطاب😎 @fahed_al_khattab
Lilia Johnson @lilies4lilia
ALEKSANDR TELKOV @aleksandrtelkov
farshad @farshadamiri3259
Ajay Bhat @ajay.bhat99
Людмила В @lyudvasi
Manolo Silva @jmsr64
Giulio Franco @giugiu_franco
Demod. conde' @demod.conde
Ahmed Yosef @yosef4139
Vik Sorate @markiv_19_7
Kuljeet Minhas @kuljeetminhas
Subarna Yogi @igneous_howday
Fredric @fredhead15
😎M@ñøj🔫 @manoj2399
Michael Gessner @michaelgessner
nacho berla @nachoberla
HæsSkøll_はさき @hesskyoll
Joseph @jack_the_king
Mallet 🏋 31.0♚GD'ى♚ 🇧🇷 @viictormallet
小花朵 @alyssawawa
بهمن قاسمی نیائی @bahman.qasemy.niaee
sonam kumari @sonamsimri
Sue @boofeysue
روهيف 😍😚😘😙بيلسان @mohiealdeenrustm
Andrzej Achinger @endi1972
Heber Israel Medina @hebis_medm
Doğan Balıkçı @balikci.dogan
Kshitij Bhurke @kshitijbhurke
Kerem Rüzgar @keremruzgar_kiziltepe
Aventuras de Peluche @aventurasdepeluche
Sudheendra @sudheendrac
Николай @kuprineo
Anna-Mariya Simashkova @loveless_anna
Άλκηστη_τ.🌹 @alkistitatsi
Nathan @nathmo2005
Jesse Martin @jessemrtn
Алексей Крадинов @prostolyudin
ramazan 21 @r_seckin
Adao Cesar Coelho fraga @adaocesarcoelho
Karen Harbus @specialkisok
трошин захар @zaahar2017