National Geographic @natgeo's photo detail 530.409 likes

Photo by @FransLanting Moving as one, a herd of elephants made up of related females and their offspring and led by a matriarch is heading to water at the edge of a floodplain along the Chobe river in Botswana. Elephants can go without water for several days, but when they are thirsty you can sense their anticipation of the relief a flowing river poses for them after days of crunching on dry vegetation. You can see here that they are almost breaking into a run. Better not get between them and and the water. Follow me @FransLanting and @#ChristineEckstrom to see what happens when a safari lodge gets in the way between a family of elephants and a favorite mango tree.

@natgeocreative @thephotosociety #SavetheElephants #Botswana #Elephants #Safari #Family #Motherhood #Wildlife

Photo by @FransLanting Moving as one, a herd of elephants made up of related females and their offspring and led by a matriarch is heading to water at the edge of a floodplain along the Chobe river in Botswana. Elephants can go without water for several days, but when they are thirsty you can sense their anticipation of the relief a flowing river poses for them after days of crunching on dry vegetation. You can see here that they are almost breaking into a run. Better not get between them and and the water. Follow me @FransLanting and @#ChristineEckstrom to see what happens when a safari lodge gets in the way between a family of elephants and a favorite mango tree. @natgeocreative @thephotosociety #SavetheElephants #Botswana #Elephants #Safari #Family #Motherhood #Wildlife

1.424 comments

Mafaldita ❤️ @mafaldita_98
mafaldita_98 commented 5 days ago
🐘🐘💚💚💚💚💚
Rose @rmvtravis
rmvtravis commented 5 days ago
Magnifient
Diksha Singh @dikshasingh1888
dikshasingh1888 commented 5 days ago
😍😍
Fidias Cuarezma @fidias_
fidias_ commented 5 days ago
@dre_c123 💊🐘😘
ضيا السلام  إمام @dhiyassalam_imam
dhiyassalam_imam commented 5 days ago
Bostwana o nanaa...
سوجانا حسىن @swjnhsn
swjnhsn commented 5 days ago
👌👌👌
Thomas Van Tricht @thom_vt
thom_vt commented 5 days ago
@lief.berckmans
Sebastian Grassewitz @sebastian_grassewitz_04
sebastian_grassewitz_04 commented 5 days ago
Family 😍
araphatoz de josepho @araphatozde
araphatozde commented 5 days ago
I really love this plus the Chanel.it makes see beautiful creatures that I haven't come across in my life.love natgeo
Gomez, M.S.W. @ostentatiousness
ostentatiousness commented 5 days ago
@commasplice_ largest pop of elephants in the world very exciting!!
🖤María    ♒ @meryyvicent
meryyvicent commented 5 days ago
😍
 @amandapaz_9
amandapaz_9 commented 5 days ago
Beautiful....💕
Giuseppe Pitruzzello @hummer_spiderman
hummer_spiderman commented 5 days ago
Wow
Giuseppe Pitruzzello @hummer_spiderman
hummer_spiderman commented 5 days ago
Nice
olgatitochoque@hotmail.com @olgatitochoqueho
olgatitochoqueho commented 5 days ago
Excelente
Carmen De Lorenzo @delorenzocarmen
delorenzocarmen commented 5 days ago
@iamsilviap I miss them so much
Silvia Muñoz Morales @silviamzmorales
silviamzmorales commented 5 days ago
@oriolnicolau Botswana i el Delta de l'Okavango...
Lindsey Kneipper Richards @lindskrichards
lindskrichards commented 5 days ago
@emrenwick 🐘❤️
 @gama1936
gama1936 commented 5 days ago
❤️❤️❤️❤️
Milad @milad.kheyrkhah1
milad.kheyrkhah1 commented 5 days ago
💧
Бажен Алгожаев @bazhenalgozhaev
bazhenalgozhaev commented 5 days ago
Sogymga soiyp alsa shirkin.
V I C K Y @virsosa20
virsosa20 commented 5 days ago
❤️
Sebastian Garcia @sebaspunteggio
sebaspunteggio commented 5 days ago
Genial
Mike G @_mikeg97_
_mikeg97_ commented 5 days ago
Love these photos recently
Austin @sightt0see
sightt0see commented 5 days ago
🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥🔥
emrenwick @emrenwick
emrenwick commented 5 days ago
@lindskrichards I love them so much!
☃Flowery Sparkles☃ @flowerysparkles
flowerysparkles commented 5 days ago
@maxi_miles
Ps singh @ps8385
ps8385 commented 5 days ago
Great
Frances Salayo @frances_salayo
frances_salayo commented 5 days ago
@michaelwalterme
basel mamdouh @basilouss
basilouss commented 5 days ago
@shahdelkheir_
Shahd Elkheir @shahdelkheir_
shahdelkheir_ commented 5 days ago
@basilouss ♥️♥️♥️
Sumer Gill @sumergill
sumergill commented 5 days ago
@jyotigill10
Jemo Gonzalez @jemogonzalez
jemogonzalez commented 5 days ago
@feonahebrio
evi @evit17
evit17 commented 5 days ago
@danaidana <3
Robert Dempsey @life.with.rob
life.with.rob commented 5 days ago
Beautiful
Алия Хафизова @alfa1002
alfa1002 commented 5 days ago
Чудесный кадр!
Jacqui Downie @jaqsta66
jaqsta66 commented 5 days ago
I saw that video, @natgeo. So funny!
Aislan @aislancremonesi
aislancremonesi commented 5 days ago
@vic_luisaa
Jewels @scoobysangel
scoobysangel commented 5 days ago
It’s a beautiful sight to see. Would love to see it in person.
Deisy Valverde Villanueva @deysivalverdevillanueva
deysivalverdevillanueva commented 5 days ago
😍
Sggia.mR @sggia.mr
sggia.mr commented 5 days ago
Ask for food area left them with them.
LudmilaOrlova @orlovaludmilavasilevna
orlovaludmilavasilevna commented 5 days ago
Зрелище!!!
Helene Lambert @helenelam56
helenelam56 commented 5 days ago
Que j'aime ces bêtes! ❤️❤️❤️
Hallie Kohn @halliekohn
halliekohn commented 5 days ago
Beautiful
Anelise Hüffner @ane_huffner
ane_huffner commented 5 days ago
Olha aí @brazil_traveller 😍😍😍
João Mauro Senise @jmsenise
jmsenise commented 5 days ago
@elianaperanzzetta 🐘
Brenda Gramlick @gramlickbrenda
gramlickbrenda commented 5 days ago
Beautiful
JSRG @jessica.recinos
jessica.recinos commented 5 days ago
Son preciosos los elefantes
Haydeé Espejo @haydeeespejo
haydeeespejo commented 5 days ago
I love all elephants
Peggy Gerard @peggygerard8
peggygerard8 commented 5 days ago
Beautiful elephants
Antiwar @worldpeace_777
worldpeace_777 commented 5 days ago
💖
Elaine Clark @ec8124404
ec8124404 commented 5 days ago
That's the life I want to be an elephant...
marcela zamorano @marcelazamorano123
marcelazamorano123 commented 5 days ago
Adoracion y respeto por ellos los amo
Bud Wiley @wilecoyotebud1034
wilecoyotebud1034 commented 5 days ago
Great photograph of these elephants in action in Botswana 🇧🇼 and the attached story was very interesting !!!! 👍👍
briar leece @briarleece
briarleece commented 5 days ago
I love elephants
 @a.bulawa
a.bulawa commented 5 days ago
@libby.tournour
Shannon Carmichael @carmichaelshannon
carmichaelshannon commented 5 days ago
👏👏👏👏
Edith Tenorio @kikis_eye
kikis_eye commented 5 days ago
@mbcv_13
Taylor @t.s.matts
t.s.matts commented 5 days ago
@dyllinsloan
Mar-🔑 Gwenigale @_boricuabonita
_boricuabonita commented 5 days ago
@xbeautyxbrains_
Ashley. M ✌🏻💋 @ilgnea
ilgnea commented 5 days ago
Thought this was cute and made me think of you @tomlin.brenda ❤️🐘
Miq Wang @mzeush
mzeush commented 5 days ago
❤️❤️❤️
 @eggogogo
eggogogo commented 5 days ago
nice !
Dr. Tariq .. @6aroog
6aroog commented 5 days ago
😍
H . KATHIRAH @nonnata_h
nonnata_h commented 5 days ago
Amazing ❤❤❤❤❤❤
Giafin Bibsy R. @giafinbibsy
giafinbibsy commented 5 days ago
@oky.simbolon @hestiibrahim @cheeseclick @mas_himawan @bilpermana nih kita klo udh beranak pinak (berasa hamster) kek gini kali ya 🤣
hesti ibrahim @hestiibrahim
hestiibrahim commented 5 days ago
@giafinbibsy @oky.simbolon @cheeseclick @mas_himawan @bilpermana kei ketua gengnya ya yg paling depan
PRINCEVIKRAM🏆 @official_princevikram_1
official_princevikram_1 commented 5 days ago
Wow
Laura @lmchavez79
lmchavez79 commented 5 days ago
They are just wonderful animals and so loving when it comes to their families. They honestly have just amazing qualities and we need to protect them so much! #savetheelephant
حمزه لیاقت علی کھوکھر🔥❤💥 @hamza_khokhar007
hamza_khokhar007 commented 5 days ago
amazing.
Sim Verdonck @simsim_vdk
simsim_vdk commented 5 days ago
@leamm12 😇
Animal and nature photography @tierundnaturfotografie
tierundnaturfotografie commented 5 days ago
Wow... great shot
Srkian Biki @srkian_biki
srkian_biki commented 5 days ago
Beautiful
Rodrigo 🇦🇷 @rodhacu
rodhacu commented 5 days ago
😍
Rodrigo 🇦🇷 @rodhacu
rodhacu commented 5 days ago
Family ❣️
Binny Under The Sea @binny_darko
binny_darko commented 5 days ago
@sassacass87
Willie Falk @williefalkphoto
williefalkphoto commented 5 days ago
Wonderful!
Eliana Laurie Fonseca Peranzzetta @elianaperanzzetta
elianaperanzzetta commented 5 days ago
Adoro, é o animal mais lindo do mundo ❤️
Celine @celinedechavigny
celinedechavigny commented 5 days ago
Mon animal préféré!!😍😍
Noelia @noella_90_
noella_90_ commented 5 days ago
Beautifull!
Charmaine Noronha @charmaine_noronha
charmaine_noronha commented 5 days ago
@amirad #famjams
Chantal Johanna @chantaljohanna_
chantaljohanna_ commented 5 days ago
@jellevrswk
Petra Pike @petra_pike
petra_pike commented 5 days ago
😍
Jordyn Whiddon @sftbllr22
sftbllr22 commented 5 days ago
@crickettwhiddon
Leo Galante 🚀 @adisupbas
adisupbas commented 5 days ago
🐘
Bichos da Caatinga @bichosdacaatingaoficial
bichosdacaatingaoficial commented 5 days ago
You do an incredible job ... The Caatinga biome is one of the most threatened and degraded in Brazil. If possible, help publicize our work, the goal is to inspire people to take care of nature through the only exclusive Brazilian biome: the Caatinga.
Liz Brooks @lizbrooksmurra
lizbrooksmurra commented 5 days ago
@stickyricky24
Pratiksha @pratiksha_023
pratiksha_023 commented 5 days ago
@karenaa_93
Nicole Silpavivat @nicolesilpavivat
nicolesilpavivat commented 5 days ago
@allytuckerr yes so majestic
Gizem Güçlü Bayram @gzm.photography
gzm.photography commented 5 days ago
Muhteşem 🐘👏😍💖
Charly @charles.arachtingi
charles.arachtingi commented 5 days ago
Beautiful ! 👍
by.B.O.S.S @by.b.o.s.s
by.b.o.s.s commented 5 days ago
OoooooooooOOOOOOoo 👌🏻
the biology student @thebiology_student
thebiology_student commented 5 days ago
😍😍😍
Luis Angel R @luisangel2963
luisangel2963 commented 5 days ago
@ale.collins jajaja no quieres mejor otra gatita?
Alejandra ramirez 🌸🎻🎶🎵 @ale.collins
ale.collins commented 5 days ago
@luisangel2963 no, yo quiero un efelante
Leticia Padilla @letybar66
letybar66 commented 5 days ago
🙏🙏🙏🙏naturaleza sagrada ❤️❤️❤️🙏🙏
Drucker @lindsay_allyn
lindsay_allyn commented 5 days ago
@alex_cragg
ArtheMStudios @arthemstudios
arthemstudios commented 5 days ago
Lovely picture, beautiful 😍
Robin @robinkazdan
robinkazdan commented 5 days ago
JOY
Nicole Frias @_nicolefrias_
_nicolefrias_ commented 5 days ago
I love elephants!! Such a great family portrait
Alaa Tabib @alaatabib
alaatabib commented 5 days ago
What's the name for commentary
Jose Vicente @josevicentea
josevicentea commented 5 days ago
Love the feelings of this animals.... incredible their sense of family and how they miss the lost loved ones....
Antiwar @worldpeace_777
worldpeace_777 commented 5 days ago
💖
Stewart Thorpe @stewart.thorpe
stewart.thorpe commented 5 days ago
Probo suwastoro @probo29
probo29 commented 5 days ago
Big comunity🐘🐘🐘
Luciaaa❤️~❤️ @luciaycristal
luciaycristal commented 5 days ago
@juanmall04
Marianna 🙎‍♀️ @macri_marianna
macri_marianna commented 5 days ago
😍
laurayutronich @laurayutronich
laurayutronich commented 5 days ago
Beautiful creatures🐘💕
Dhanvi.H.Bharadwaj @thejadedmandrill
thejadedmandrill commented 5 days ago
@itsnavyaa
@ smart BOY AYAAS @durgamadhab_dash_ayaas
durgamadhab_dash_ayaas commented 5 days ago
Beautiful
Lester Lasa @lestogo
lestogo commented 5 days ago
Awesome thanks
edrine may hernandez @edrinemay15
edrinemay15 commented 5 days ago
I like this 😍
Georgijus Rancevas @georgijusrancevas
georgijusrancevas commented 5 days ago
W
Alien Soul👽🎶 @alien_and_weird
alien_and_weird commented 5 days ago
Simply beautiful
Mia Knight @design_by_wilson
design_by_wilson commented 5 days ago
❤️❤️
braulio adrianzen @br.ad18341
br.ad18341 commented 5 days ago
hermoso
Viniish @viniish18
viniish18 commented 5 days ago
Bros😂😂😂🤘💐
ALi @ali.pamuk
ali.pamuk commented 5 days ago
Awesome creatures 🐘
March 81244425 @march81244425
march81244425 commented 5 days ago
elephants❤💛💚💜💙
Tommy Schroeder @schroeder.tommy
schroeder.tommy commented 5 days ago
Beautiful
Florita Martínez @flomarfresa50
flomarfresa50 commented 5 days ago
ALGÚN DÍA ESTARÉ AL LADO DE MUCHOS.AMO LOS ELEFANTES SSSSS.
Luis Angel R @luisangel2963
luisangel2963 commented 5 days ago
@ale.collins jaja entonces un Peluche de efelante
Alejandra ramirez 🌸🎻🎶🎵 @ale.collins
ale.collins commented 5 days ago
@luisangel2963 jajajaja pero cuando vayamos a África iremos a verlos 😍❤️
Rosa @danielamurcia12
danielamurcia12 commented 5 days ago
@valentinap_6 😍
Dorian Jordan @daddyd219
daddyd219 commented 5 days ago
@joyluckchub
Heather Bieker @heatherbieker
heatherbieker commented 5 days ago
Beautiful!!!
la’kei williams @blackboikei
blackboikei commented 5 days ago
@ellephunkadelle 💕
💜Lele💜 @lele_.queen
lele_.queen commented 5 days ago
😍💕
choplac llamp @choplac_llamp
choplac_llamp commented 5 days ago
Woow urones
Вика Стрельцова @streltsova7561
streltsova7561 commented 5 days ago
@adilyade
Luis Angel R @luisangel2963
luisangel2963 commented 5 days ago
@ale.collins jajaja si nena, suena mejor
Alejandra ramirez 🌸🎻🎶🎵 @ale.collins
ale.collins commented 5 days ago
@luisangel2963 pero también mi peluche :3 🐘❤️
hanju liu @carolyn3.liu
carolyn3.liu commented 5 days ago
Cool
Debbie Faulkner @ibedrivin
ibedrivin commented 5 days ago
Paint their tusks pink quick

530.409 likes

Karen Meyers @kcmey
Insta
Armando parra @arma2204
Lisa Tellez @lisa.tellez.16
Rashida Rose @rashida_roses5
Flor De Perez @bubyta_flor
Cardozo Leidy @leidycar2227
Kathy @kathy_m27
Cathy Leisegang @hibiscus_catlei
Karty Singh, Esq @kartimus_prime
Alfonsi Jaennette @alfonsijaennette
shambhu gudagi @shambhu.gudagi
Ellen @nibletgravy
Sherri M. @sherri.matthews
Sushil Yadav @sushilyadav0294
Laura @lollyei
Leslie Sutherland @lesliesuth
Andart Publicidad @andart24
paulina riva @paulina_riva
zolbuushka @zolbuushka
Agustina Santa Cruz @santa_cruz_agustina
Ellie B. @louese665
Mb @mb3968
Sheila Norton Bell @sheilajnorton
Christien @christienboshoff
เกษม บังใบ @bangaibeksm
Ninamatthews @ninamatthews4122
ebad ahmadian @ebad_ahmadian
 @annamariatortilla
👸miss_princy👸 @i_u_c_26
colonelhathi @colonel.hathi
Desiree Cline @desi_rayray13
Akshay Baliyan @akshaybaliyan7
 @keithmcconnell
Sakshi Bhagwat @isakshibhagwat
Nana @nana.t097
libni herrrra @libni_herrera_
Melinda Cooke @mimicm
Daniel Zemek @aragorn261
C. Satomi @chiii0713
Arild Etherton Friberg @arild.blablabla
Madeline Capinpin @madelinecapinpin
Hampar Tokatlian @hampartokatlian
Wouter Van Het Erve @w_o_u_t_e_r.1
Kapulwa Kapambwe @kpkapulwa
Jarno Manders @jarnomanders.nl
PJ Murcia @pedrojuan.murcia
paula jane weshner @weshner
 @arya_pap
Axelle Ruchti @moiaxou
Roberto Buriel Vigil @robertoburiel
asal @as.al3842
zartiex @zartiex
Crisdale Pasion @daledale18
myles @mylesmiles1234
Heliodora FG @heliodora_fg
sakib_salauddin @sakib_slauddin
Хулиган @islom_07_07_00
Raihanul Haque @shadhin301
Galasso Pasquale @galassiag
Sherry L. Fitch @sherryl.fitch
 @khaledmofreh33
Émilie Gandois @emilie_gandois
Кристиян Петков @kristiianpetkov
Purnima Naik @purnima0413
Akash Sharma (पंडित) @aki10.10sharma
Xiaoyu Han @han_xiaoyu
Helena Axelsson @anelehaxe
Jadonya @jado_______
Quemener @quemenerfranck
Alejandro cadenas tapia @alejandrocadenastapia3643
Steven Riley @stevenriley5944
کاوه ایراندوست @khwhyrndwst
Evelina @evelina_genova
Zahira Coto @zahiracoto
İrem SAĞER @iremmsager
Donald @donald_westerman
Svetlin Marinov @svetlin.marinov
Nikhil Kumar @nikhilkumar456
Mayank is Awesome @mayankis
Clemente Benjamin @cmarfranz
Kirsten Dearden @petmama53
Flavia Begni @flaviabegni
Eva Vrbančič @yevaofrohan
Stayhumble @stayhumble35
Sayanti Bhattacharyya @mu_nai
Faisal baloch @faisalbaloch8546
Hannah Lundberg @acnhannah
Alice Garcia @alicegar15
Meghan Ament @meghanament
Татьянка @kalina0284
A R K @ark1506
Negra @negris_35
Walter Emilio Acero Durán @walter_acero
Nadia S. @n2.schwester
Fabian Kogler @koglerfabi
Jalandar @shindejalandar
Emanuele Sgreva @emanuele_sgreva
Claudia Perusquia @claus_perusquia
Akshay Chauhan @akshaychauhan76
Erin Barton @eb768
 @niluan25
Maritza Miranda Balmaseda @maritza.mirandabalmaseda
Jordan Marcel @jordanmarcel
gomez nathan @instablegram
Mary_Rotar @mary_rotar
Magdalena Baez @baez.magdalena
Laura C. Soler @lauracsoler
Peyman @peyman.nasiriiii
Mariajose Hernandez @mariajoibarralora7159
BadAssScrappy @badscrappydog
Rebeckyta Reyes @b3ck1ta
Stefanus Spitzbart @stefanusspitzbart
avee @waevee
Himani sharma @himanisharma1729
reyhan inam @reyhaninam
Sang a roon @sangkaja
vahid akbari @vahid_akbari004
Victor Béguet @victorbgt7
 @acomstock24